About FSW

Mission: Engage, Educate, and Elevate Flutists of All Levels


The Flute Society of Washington, Inc was founded in 1966. The organization is incorporated in the District of Columbia. The original Board of Directors included Richard E Townsend, John Dennis, and Wallace Mann. Richard Townsend served as the Flute Society of Washington’s original President, and John Reachmack served as the organization’s first secretary.

The Flute Society of Washington, Inc. is a non-profit organization under IRS 501(c)(3).